Back to School Safety Tips for Drivers
With the start of the new school year comes the responsibility of motorists to be mindful not only of speed limits in school zones, but other safety laws, including not passing school buses.
Did you know that New York is one of four states where motorists are required to stop for a stopped school bus, red lights flashing, even on a divided highway? Drivers are also required to stop 20 feet behind a school bus that has its red stoplights flashing.
It’s hard to believe, but an estimated 50,000 motor vehicles illegally pass New York State school buses every day.
Your chances of getting caught just went way, way up, after NY passed a law in August authorizing the installation of cameras on school buses to catch drivers who illegally pass.
First conviction: Fines of $250 to $400, up to 30 days in jail, and a mandatory five points on your license.
Second conviction within 3 years: Fines of $600 to $750, up to 6 months in jail.
Drive happy and keep our kids safe!